[collectd] Is there any possibility to hide the address in the web archive?

Staněk Luboš kolektor<span style="display: none;">.trailing-username</span>(a)<span style="display: none;">leading-domain.</span>atlas.cz
Mon Nov 27 18:56:25 CET 2006

Hi Nathan,
you are probably right.
I do not want to accuse somebody of being a jerk but it is the high
probability that someone has some malware on his computer.

I am not able to filter these messages. Even SourceForge servers do not
count them to be spam and mark them 0.0-1.5, although my firm's
SpamAssassin automatically marks such messages >9.0. This weekend I
deleted more than 1200 spam messages from my mailbox coming from
SourceForge. 8:(

I will use this address to the point I will not be able to cope with the
count of spam. :)

Best regards,

Nathan napsal(a):
> Couldn't a spammer just be part of the mailing list as well and not
> participating but skimming addresses?  Gmail tends to filter out the
> spam that I get on this address, though.  I get a lot of it but it goes
> into the spam folder.
> Nathan
> On Mon, 2006-11-27 at 18:17 +0100, Staněk Luboš wrote:
>> Hi Florian,
>> sorry for bothering with this but I would like to know the reason.
>> Is it possible to get the page somewhere else?
>> Is not the mailing list mirored somewhere? Is not searched by the search
>> servers like Google?
>> I checked the mail path, I sent it securely:
>> Received: from www.kavdane.cz ([])
>> 	by huhu.verplant.org with esmtps (TLS-1.0:DHE_RSA_AES_256_CBC_SHA:32)
>> 	(Exim 4.50) id 1Goipk-00034J-8L
>> 	for collexctd<span style="display: none;">.trailing-username</span>(a)<span style="display: none;">leading-domain.</span>myverplant.org; Mon, 27 Nov 2006 16:55:52 +0100
>> You sent it securely:
>> Received: from huhu.verplant.org ([])
>> 	by killbill2.mail-atlas.net
>> 	(using TLSv1/SSLv3 with cipher AES256-SHA (256 bits))
>> 	for kolexktor<span style="display: none;">.trailing-username</span>(a)<span style="display: none;">leading-domain.</span>myatlas.cz;
>> 	Mon, 27 Nov 2006 16:55:29 +0100
>> I am getting it securely through SSL.
>> It is almost impossible to sniff mail packets.
>> I cannot exclude used public server as a source, it uses MS
>> technologies. But I can exclude it in the case of the sf.net address.
>> Florian Forster napsal(a):
>>> Hi Lubos,
>>> On Mon, Nov 27, 2006 at 04:51:44PM +0100, Stan??k Lubo?? wrote:
>>>> I must state that probably the clear text addresses in html archive
>>>> pages are the reason for excessive spamming targeted to mailing list
>>>> subscribers.
>>>> I registered in the mailing list at Mon, 27 Nov 2006 11:37 +0100.
>>>> The first spam arrived at Mon, 27 Nov 2006 15:12:46 +0100 from some
>>>> Korean computer.
>>>> The address was created just before the registration and was used only
>>>> for this purpose. I sent only one message from this account to the
>>>> collectd mailing list.
>>> that sucks. There have been three accesses of the message in the
>>> archives:
>>>   faui07d.informatik.uni-erlangen.de.
>>>   www.kavdane.cz.
>>>   DSL01.
>>> The first and the last were most likely me, the second one was likely
>>> you, that the archive does not seem to be theproblem in this particular
>>> case.
>> Yes, the second access is from my firm's gateway. I am going through ssh
>> (nx) there.
>>>> You can see your address (slightly modified) inside <a> tags in the
>>>> clear text, e.g. no CSS, no scripting, simply readable text. It is an
>>>> easy target for robots and harvesters.
>>> Apparently I modified the wrong part of the script. I'll have another go
>>> ;)
>> It is really a garbage but the visitor will have troubles to read it. :)
>> Florian Forster octo<span style="display:
>> none;">.trailing-username</span>(a)<span style="display:
>> none;">leading-domain.</span>verplant.org
>> And it is visible only in one page.
>> Best regards,
>> Lubos

More information about the collectd mailing list